The OTP Book Tag

I was watching BookTube, and I came across this book tag on Thoughts On Tomes. i really liked the idea, even though I’m not really obsessed with OTPs and shipping the way some people are. 

For those who don’t know, OTP stands for One True Pairing. I don’t really understand the concept, as I keep hearing people say things like ‘I have many OTPs.’ How can you have many ‘One True Pairings?’ However, in this post, I’d like to go with the flow, and use ‘OTP’ to refer to a pairing I really like.

1. Pick an unpopular OTP that you ship.

I used to ship Aspen and America from the Selection Series, even though most people shipped America with Maxon. I really liked the idea of the girl rejecting the handsome, wealthy prince for the commoner, and while Aspen definitely has his flaws, I felt he was really sweet towards America, and loved her unconditionally.I did eventually get to like the Maxerica, though.

2. Pick an OTP that you didn’t ship at first, but now you do.

I am currently reading The evolution of Mara Dyer, part two of the Mara Dyer trilogy. I initially did not particularly like the Mara/Noah pairing. Noah initially seemed to me like a cliché, however I eventually started liking him, and the ship.

3. Pick your most hated NOTP.

Dramione (Draco/Hermione from Harry Potter). This is totally non canon, however it is extremely popular in the world of fanfiction. I never felt any kind of liking towards this pairing, and while I believe you are all entitled to your own ships,  and I would never hate on anyone, I’ll anti ship it forever.

4. Pick your OTP that took way to long to get together.

Eragon and Arya from the Inheritance Cycle. I had been shipping them hard from the beginning, but only in the very end did Arya admit to have any kind of feelings for Eragon, and even then, they do not get together. I loved the ending, but I still haven’t got over it.

5. Pick your favorite non-canon OTP.

To be honest, I can’t think of any non-canon book OTP I like. There are a few, like Fred/Hermione which I like the idea of, but I don’t really ship. I can think of just one pairing, but it isn’t from a book. It is Light/ L from the anime Death Note. I know that’s a crazy pairing, and I did not expect them to end up together or anything, but I ship them hard in an alternate universe.

6.Pick your favorite BROTP

BROTP refers to a pairing you ship as best friends, not as a couple. I’d go with Penny and Simon from Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I really loved how there was absolutely no romantic or sexual tension between them, yet, they were super close friends, and loved each other as friends.

7. Pick an OTP you adored in the books, but not in the movie/TV adaptation.

Harry/Ginny from the Harry Potter series.

8. Pick a popular OTP which, however hard you tried, you just can’t ship it.

I am sorry that this is the third one from Harry Potter, but, Snape/Lily. Snape’s behavior in the books appeared to me more like that of an obsessed creep than a loving lover.

9. Pick your favorite LGBT+ OTP.

Ari and Dante from Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe by Benjamin Allire Saenz. I loved Dante’s character, and I think this pairing is really cute.

10. Pick your all time favorite OTPs

There are quite a few.

Percabeth!!!!! (Percy Jackson series)

download (17)

 

Fourtris!!!!! ( Divergent trilogy)

download (18)

 

Nasuada/Murthagh (Inheritance Cycle)

images

I know that was not the most popular ship in the series, but I really loved it.

 

Hazel/Augustus(The Fault in our Stars)

download (19)

I love love love that pairing!

Cath/Levi (Fangirl)

images (1)

Leave a Reply

