The Birthstone Book Tag

I’m totally obsessed with book tags these days, and this is one I had come across multiple times, so I thought, why not do it?

 

January- Garnet. Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies. Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

I’ll go with We need to talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver. That book gave me the chills.

 

February-Amethyst. Purple is associated with royalty. Name a book with regal qualities. You can base it off the characters, or choose the King of all books.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I know that the general opinion on this book is mixed, but I did think the book had a pretty regal feel to it, though I suspect it is the cover and the title that makes me feel that way.

March-Aquamarine. Washed out-Name a wishy-washy character who is not strong, or a follower.

I can’t really think of many such characters. The only one that comes to my mind is Samwell Tarly from A song of ice and fire by George R.R Martin. I don’t know if it counts, as he is meant to be that way, and I really like him despite his lack of strength. Though, I have only read the first three books in the series, so I really can’t say, it is possible that he shows character development later.

April-Diamond. A diamond in the rough-Name a book that you loved, but is not well known.

The huntress of Thornbeck forest by Melanie Dickerson. It was not a very fast-paced book, the heroine, Odette was not really the badass I expected her to be, but I found that book really enjoyable.

 

May-Emerald. Said to balance energy-Name two characters who balance each other well.

Cath and her sister Wren in Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. They were both a part of the same fandom, they were close and  they were also really different. I loved the way the relationship between the sisters was written.

 

June-Pearl. Associated with loyalty. Name a character who is loyal till the end.

Roran from the Inhertance Cycle by Christopher Paoloni. His loyalty towards everyone-the love of his life, his cousin, his leader- was truly touching.

July-Ruby. Blood red-Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

Princess by Jean Sasson, which was the story of a Saudi Arabian princess. It revealed so much about the treatment of women in some parts of the world, which really made me angry.

August-Peridot. Pale green, it pales in comparison to other gems. Name a supporting character whom you liked better than the main character.

This was a hard one. I guess I liked Dante more than Ari in Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe, by Benjamin Saenz.

September-Sapphire. Blue like the ocean, which is calming-Name a book that had a calming effect on you.

The light between oceans by M.L Stedman. While it was actually a serious book  about a serious dilemma, I found the lighthouse setting and the family environment really calming.

October-Opal. Iridescent-Name an iridescent book.It can be a book with a cover(shiny? colorful?) or you can base it off a character.(Quirky? colorful?).

I’ll go with this cover of Percy Jackson and the lightning thief by Rick Riordan.

November-Topaz. Associated with resilience. Name a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

I know not everyone likes her, but I’d choose America Singer from the Selection series by Kiera Cass. Born to poverty, and discrimination, living in a dangerous time, surrounded by rebels, she manages to rise to the top, winning over Prince Maxon, and also eliminating the evils in her country.

December-Blue Zircon. Associated with friendship. Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

I loved the friendship between Miles, the ‘Colonel’, Takumi and Alaska in Looking for Alaska by John Green.

 

 

Leave a Reply

