Review: The Glittering Court

Author: Richelle Mead

Genre: Fantasy, Romance

The Glittering court is the story of a young noblewoman, who escapes a forced marriage to join the Glittering Court- an elite institution where commoner women are groomed for marriages in the New World.

My feelings for this book, are, at the best, mixed. I’ve read many negative reviews for it, and while I don’t agree with all of them, there are quite a few aspects in the book I’m unhappy with. I do like a few things about this book, but overall, I’d say it was not really something I enjoyed. 

I hated the world where this book was set. It is extremely sexist world, where marriage to a well-off man is the ultimate goal in a woman. Sexism is already something that is seen in the real world, I don’t understand why it has to be shown in fictional worlds as well.

I had mixed feelings for the protagonist, who assumed the name Adelaide. On one hand, she is shown as a strong character, who is unafraid of breaking societal norms. Her deeds did require a certain amount of courage. However, there are several aspects to her character which bother me. For one, she seemed really apathetic to injustice till she was faced by it. She never rebels, never questions, until she faces trouble in her own life. 

I liked the character of Cedric, and the dark secret he had.It was not something I had encountered before in fiction, and it was an interesting twist. I found the romance in the book interesting, and I liked it. However, another thing about Adelaide which bugged me was her attitude towards sex, which consisted of great deal of moral relativism.

I did enjoy the book. Just not as much as I expected to.

 

Leave a Reply

