Top 10 Tuesday: Ten books set outside the U.S

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Books and The Bookish.

I am from India, but when I look at my bookshelves, most of the books I see are from the U.S Maybe it’s because I love fantasy, and most of the fantasy books are written by American writers. Of course, there are several books set in fictional worlds, but for the purpose of this post, I’ll use only books set in real places.

Here are some Indian books I’ve read.

 

I love Khaled Hosseini’s books, which are set in Afghanistan.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahideh has an Arabic/Persian setting.

download

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is set in Germany.

download (30)

The Harry Potter series, of course is set in the U.K.

download (28)

The Northern Lights/The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman is starts off in England, and then moves to places like Lapland and Svalbard.

download (63)

Leave a Reply

