Review: Simon Vs The Homo Sapien Agenda

Author: Becky Albertalli

Rating: 4/5

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

This book had been one I had been planning to read for a long time. I really enjoyed it, though there were parts which felt rather cheesy or unrealistic to me (Which was why I knocked off one star). However, the major part was fun and cutesy, Simon was indeed a likable character, and so was Blue.

The friendships portrayed in the book were really nice and fun to read about. I also liked reading about Simon’s parents. I found it interesting that while they were (MINOR SPOILER) completely accepting of his sexuality when he finally came out, there were problematic moments, like all the times his dad made gay jokes without realizing that it could have hurt him. It highlighted the fact that homophobia is sometimes internalized, and people can hurt each other without realizing it. There were several quotes that were actually deep and insightful, like White shouldn’t be default any more than straight should be default. In fact, I found the way the book dealt with the issue of ‘coming out’ really good. It questioned the way ‘straight’ is considered ‘default’ and the way you have to ‘come out’ only if you’re gay.

This might be an unpopular opinion, but I found the romance in the book overly cheesy and rather boring. I mean, their communication through the emails was fun to read about, but once they met each other it turned overly predictable. I have heard people say that it was obvious from the start who Blue was, but I was unable to predict it correctly. I also found the drama between Leah and Abby rather annoying. Otherwise, it was a really cute, fun read that I would really recommend.

Leave a Reply

