My Thoughts on Shipping

Shipping as you all know, is fanspeak for the act of supporting a relationship between two fictional characters. It is something we get to see a lot these days on the internet. Ships can be ‘canon’ i.e confirmed in the books (Or movies or TV shows or whatever.)or non canon, i.e a product of the reader’s (or viewer’s wishful thinking).

In this post, I’m going to talk about my personal opinions on shipping. I don’t intend to offend anyone through this post, in any manner

I think the idea of shipping is really cute, and it’s often really fun to ship characters together. I’ve been into reading fanfiction for quite some time, and I’ve even given fanfic writing a shot. I’ve also seen various ship-related fan art, which I enjoyed. Shipping is fun, it is cute and I like it.

However, I really dislike it when I see people talking about ships as if it is the only thing that matters in books. I’m not judging anyone, I’m just stating my personal opinion. It annoys me when people talk about whether they are team Peeta or team Gale all the time, like who Katniss is going to choose as her love interest is the only thing that matters in the Hunger games. I have not read ACOTAR, but I’ve heard more about Tamlin and Rhysand, than about the world of the book.

I think shipping is cool. If you like it, go for it. But please don’t make an entire book about it. There’s more to YA books than romance (unless it is specifically in the romance genre.).

Leave a Reply

