Review: Anna and the French Kiss

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: Contemporary, romance, YA

Rating:3/5

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

This was one book I had heard a lot about. I expected it to be a cute, fluffy read-and it was. I loved the description of Paris, and the School of America in Paris. It made me really want to visit Paris someday. It would have been really amazing to attend boarding school in Paris.

However, I found Anna a really annoying protagonist. She seemed so whiny throughout the book. While I totally understand that it would suck to be sent away forcibly to a foreign country, how can you be so disinterested in something like that? I found her attitude really annoying and ridiculous, especially the way she tried to disguise her American-ness without attempting to actually learn anything about the culture of the place she was staying in. (The Canadian flag? Seriously? Though, to be fair, that was Etienne’s idea.) Speaking of Etienne, I really don’t understand the hype about him. I couldn’t find anything attractive about him, other than the fact that he was eye-candy.

I actually used to think that most reviewers were overreacting while talking about Etienne’s cheating. Because, while cheating sucks, let’s face it, people do make mistakes sometimes. However *SPOILER* Etienne seemed to have been into Anna from the beginning, so why didn’t he break it off with his girlfriend earlier before leading on Anna?’ *END OF SPOILER.*

This is not to say this book does not have it’s redeeming factors. I suppose I was a bit tired of fluffy YA contemporaries, which was why I did not really take to this book. Something in me is still curious about Lola, and Isla, though and so I will probably end up reading those two books,

Leave a Reply

