Review: The Steradian trail

Author: M.N Krish

Series: The infinity cycle

Genre:mystery, thriller

Rating: 2.5/5

They don’t come better than Divya. ‘Uber-smart’ does not even begin to describe it. And even a single-digit All-India rank in everything is nothing more than a left-handed demonstration of the kind of stuff she is made of. But the limits of her prowess are suddenly tested when her professor, Lakshman, springs a bizarre new assignment on her—helping out Joshua Ezekiel.

A world-renowned computer scientist at MIT, Joshua is now in India and in deep, deep trouble. A criminal genius who happens to be his former student is brutally murdered, leaving Joshua trapped in the mess and mayhem that follow.

With Lakshman and Divya firmly on his side, Joshua begins digging up his crooked protégé’s sinister trail of secrets—secrets which spiral out of an ancient Indian city and unleash shockwaves much, much, beyond . . .

The main reason why I picked this book up was the realization that I had not read many books set in my country, India. It was a conscious decision, and I really wanted to like it. However, somehow it did not really work out for me.

The combination of science, religion and crime in the book somewhat reminded me of Dan Brown’s books, , particularly Angels and Demons. However while Angels and Demons really left me intrigued and kept me turning the pages, this book did not do that for me at all. It did not strike me as particularly intriguing or suspenseful, and the revelation in the end somehow seemed rather far-fetched.

The characters were okay, nothing too special. The blurb is a bit deceptive, as it brings out the impression that Divya is the protagonist when she actually plays only a small role in the book, and most of the action focuses on Lakshman and Joshua. It did give Divya a backstory that struck me as rather unnecessary. I really disliked her mother and did not think much of her fiancé, Venus. Her mother was so controlling of her life! Most Indian parents do act rather controlling at times, but this seemed rather extreme, with Divya’s mother fixing her marriage and all without even asking for her opinion! And Divya was okay with the decision as she liked Venus, which was something else I couldn’t comprehend, as they seemed to have nothing in common.

The mathematical and economic theories referenced in the book went totally above my head. The author is from a Science/Engineering background, and he had attended some of the top colleges, so I’m sure he knows where he’s coming from. However, I doubt most readers would be able to grasp them. Also, the connections with Indian religious/cultural traditions did not particularly intrigue me, the links somehow struck me as rather forced.

In spite of all these, the book does have a lot of positive reviews on Goodreads, so I suppose this book would be interesting for a lot of readers. It just did not work out for me.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Steradian trail

Leave a Reply

