Problematic fave book tag

I wanted to do my September Wrap up today, but my laptop’s gone haywire and I’m writing this on my phone, and I thought it would be easier to do this tag instead as I wouldn’t have to insert many links and all.

I saw this tag at Rantandraveaboutbooks and it was originally created by Izzy @Ravenclaw book club.

 

Name a character everyone loves whom you hate.

I’d say Anna Oliphant from Anna and the French kiss. I found her really annoying. I would have been super excited if I got to go to school in Paris and I would have wanted to learn about the culture and all there, but she seemed so uninterested…… yet she acted so weirdly about her being American- what was with that Canadian flag and all? I also felt she was an awful hypocrite with her best friend. Tbh, I did not particularly like Etienne either.

 

A character everyone hates you love.

I don’t exactly love her, but I feel Cho Chang from the Harry Potter series gets a lot of undeserved hate. I did not like some of things she did in the Order of the Phoenix, but she had just seen the death of her boyfriend, and she does conduct herself really bravely later on with Dumbledore’s army and in the battle of Hogwarts (in the books not the movies). I also really liked it that J.K Rowling did not unrealistically make everyone end up with the first person they date.

 

A character who started outaz problematic and grew to be a better person.

This one is not really a case of redemption, but of a character who acted in a problematic way in the beginning having a reason for his behavior which is revealed later. Grand from The Summer that melted everything by Tiffany McDaniel. I thought he was a douche in the beginning but later, when the truth about him was revealed, it was simply heartbreaking.

 

A character who started out good, but later became problematic.

Spoiler for the Percy Jackson series. Luke Castellan. Though he does redeem himself in the end.

 

A problematic couple you ship. (Doesn’t have to be Canon)

I don’t really ship this, and this may gross some of you out, but I really don’t think Cersei and Jamie are the most problematic couple in the ASOIAF universe. I mean, there are non consensual relationships and relationships between minors and much older adults and stuff like that in the series and at least, Jamie and Cersei are (in the books) consenting adults. I suppose most of you think I’m a pervert now.

 

A coupl everyone ships which you find problematic. (Doesn’t have to be canon.)

DRAMIONE! While I don’t think Draco Malfoy is completely evil, I still don’t like him. He was awfully mean right from the beginning. And if he gets together with Hermione, the story would turn into one of those good girl meets a hot, rich troubled bad boy stories which I can’t stand.

A problematic trope you love.

Thetragic/mysterious past. Maybe it’s not problematic, but it is rather overused.

 

A book /TV show/movie that is problematic but you love it again.

Angels and Demons by Dan Brown. Again, I’m stretching the meaning of problematic here. I had a lot of criticism for this book for being inaccurate, and it is about the Illuminati, which is the butt of many jokes these days, but all the same I loved it.

 

A book/TV show/movie you hate because it is problematic.

Half girlfriend by Chetan Bhagat. I find it a bit awkward considering the fact I hardly ever talk about books from my country, and today im finally mentioning one and I’m dissing it, but I really hated it. The main character was so stalkery, he actually travelled from Bihar, India to New York and started visiting every bar their because years ago his love interest had mentioned she wanted to be a singer at a bar in New York………like wtf.

 

Lastly, your problematic fave.

Light Yagami from the anime Death Note. He’s a total sociopath who kills hundreds of people, but rather scarily, I can understand his point of view. I thought he was an extremely well crafted character.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

