T5W: Inaccurate book covers.

Book covers, in my opinion are extremely important, as we gain our first impression about a certain book from its cover. We say that we should not judge a book by its cover, but we often do so. I almost never buy a book just because of the cover, but if a book has a trashy cover, I’m more likely to NOT buy it. 

Top five Wednesday is a weekly meme by Ginger Reads Lainey and Thoughts on Tomes. goodreads.

download-2

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I have one question for whoever designed this cover. Who is the guy on the cover, AND WHY IS HE NAKED?

 

download.jpg

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. I’ve not read this book, and  I know it has had a cover change, but this cover tells us absolutely nothing about the book. It just has the face of a girl in it. If it was not so apparent from the name of the book, I would have thought it was a contemporary.

ready_player_one_cover

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I frickin loved this book, but I don’t get the cover. It doesn’t mislead you, but it doesn’t look very nice, and doesn’t tell you much about the book.

download-1

The Steradian trail by M.N Krish. I did not get the cover. At all.

 

download-4

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger. I don’t get this cover either. I wonder, is this horse shown some sort of a metaphor for angst?

 

 

7 thoughts on “T5W: Inaccurate book covers.

  1. Good choices for the topic. I don’t think the cover artist really thought about who the guy was on Cassandra Claire’s cover and only wanted to show shiny tattoos so I do say one really needs to read the books to get the significance…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good choices. The City of Bones – I always thought that the guy on the front seemed too old to be representative of the character in the story – but that’s probably just me. Vampire Academy – what is that cover supposed to mean really. I’ve read the series and I can never understand that cover choice. Ready Player One – not the most inventive cover – a play on a well known gaming phrase and a font with a Pacman type character is all I can come up to as why that cover was decided upon. I did see an alternative for that one that was much more sci-fi.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

