Top Ten Tuesday: Scary books on my TBR

Top ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is Halloween freebie. I love scary books, but I’ve not read many of them, so I decided to do Top Ten scary books on my TBR. While some of these books belong to the horror genre, some donot, and I’ve included them as they are based on concepts that I personally find scary/creepy.

 

1.Dracula by Bram Stroker

download.png

I’ve been trying to read more classics, and this is one I’m eager to pick up. This is like, the original story of vampires (who don’t sparkle)!

 

2. Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice

download-14

Another classic about vampires that do not sparkle!

 

3.House of Leaves by Mark Z Danielewski

images (5).jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is is one book everyone seems to be intimidated by. It is focused on a family which has moved into a house which is bigger on the inside than the outside-a rather simple concept that inspires curiosity.I’ve heard it has some weird writing and stuff, and I’m really curious to know what it is all about.

 

4.The Shining-Stephen King

download (15).jpg

Shamefully, I’m yet to read a book by King,and I’ve seen this one appear in every horror reading list, so it is not surprising this made to my TBR.

 

5. It-Stephen King.

download (1).png

Yes, another book by Stephen Kng,this time with creepy clowns in it.

 

6. Coraline-Neil Gaiman

download (16).jpg

Neil Gaiman is yet  another author whose books I want to read, but I haven’t already. I’ve hear about Coraline, which is about a girl who discovers a mysterious world behind a locked door, and meets her ‘other’ parents.

 

7. The dead house by Dawn Kurtagich.

download (17).jpg

I heard of this book through a recommendations video by booktuber BenjaminofTomes, and it intrigued me ever since then. It is a part-psychological thriller part-urban-legend, about a girl Carly Johnson,and Kaitlyn Johnson who initially thought to be Carly’s twin,but it turns out Carly doesn’t have a twin.So who is Kaitlyn?

 

8. The Call by Peadar O Guilin

download (18).jpg

This is another book I’ve heard of from a Booktuber, this time, JesseThe Reader. Set in dystopian Ireland, it involves creepy fairies in a mysterious land called the Grey land.

 

9.The Cellar by Natasha Preston

download-19

This one is about a sixteen year old girl who is kidnapped by a man who kidnaps several girls, keeps them n a cellar, and thinks of them as family.

 

10.Geek love-Katherine Dunn

download (20).jpg

The name of this book sounds like a cutesy contemporary romance between two geeks- and that couldn’t be further from the truth. This has a really chilling premise, revolving around the Biwenskis whose families have bred them as an exhibit of human oddities by consuming certain chemicals and radioisotopes.

 

So, these are the top ten scary books on my TBR. If you have read any of them,dolet me know.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Scary books on my TBR

Leave a Reply

