The Cliches Book Tag

If you have been following my blog, you’ll probably know I’m a  big sucker for book tags.  I found this on a video by booktuber BooksAndLala, and it looked really interesting, so without any further ado(which is what every booktuber says), let’s get started.

 

Actions Speak Louder than Words. A book that wasn’t or couldn’t be better than the movie.

I haven’t watched that many book to movie adaptations, so I really don’t have an answer to this. I do know a book which I feel is more enjoyable than the book, that is Lord of the Rings. At least I think the first movie is, I haven’t watched the other two. Don’t kill me, Tolkien fans. This is just my opinion.

 
 The Grass is Always Greener on the Other Side. A rags to riches or riches to rags story.

Paper Princess by Erin Watts. The protagonist is a  young girl who leads a tough life and has to work as a stripper to pay her bills, until she is taken in by the ultra-wealthy Royals.

download-13

 

The Apple does not fall Far from the Tree. A parent child relationship that you love.

The relationship between Demeter and Persephone in The Dark Wife, a Hades and Persephone retelling, was really nice. Though Demeter was unable to protect her daughter all the time, they did have a good relationship.

 You Can’t Judge a Book by it’s Cover. A great book that needs a better cover.

Ready Player One by  Ernest Cline. I absolutely loved the book, but I didn’t think much of either its covers.

 

You Can’t Please Everyone. A book you hate that everyone loves

Hate might be too strong a word, but I wasn’t a big fan of Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.

 

What Doesn’t Kill you Makes you Stronger. What’s a book that made you a better person for having read it.

I read this book in the Chicken Soup series, called Extraordinary Teens, when I was much younger. I found it really inspiring.

download (23).jpg

 

A book with a disabled character or actual blind love.

A rather obvious one is The Fault in our Stars, with Augustus Waters having lost one leg due to cancer, and also because of the character Isaac, who is blind.

download (26)

 

 

Ignorance is Bliss. A book that is bad but you just don’t want to admit it.

The Selection series by Kiera Cass. The entire series was kind of ridiculous, but all the same, I really really enjoyed reading it.

download (2)

 

 There is No Time Like the Present.What is your favorite contemporary book?

There are two books I’d like to mention. One is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, and the other is a book I read recently, Hate List by Jennifer Brown.

 

Better Safe than Sorry. A book you don’t want to read in case it’s bad.

Let it Snow by john Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle. While I liked all of John Green’s books, looking back, all of them were rather similar to each other. Also, I’m not a big fan of cutesy love stories.

download (24).jpg

So, that’s it. If you want to do this tag, feel free to do it, as I’m not tagging anyone.

 

6 thoughts on “The Cliches Book Tag

Leave a Reply

