October Wrap Up/

It is that time of the month again, when we talk about the books we’ve read during the month. This month, I’ve read six books.

 

1.The Catcher in the rye by J.D Salinger.

download-10

Most people have very mixed feelings about this book. Almost everyone I know either loves it or thinks it is the worst book ever. However, i’m an exception for I liked this book, but I did not think it was a life changing read or anything. Holden Caulfield was an interesting character to read about, though i totally get why people don’t like him.

 

2. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

download

Rating:3.5/5

This was an interesting read. However, somehow I did not like at as much as I liked Cinder. Review

 

3. The Dark Wife by Sarah Diemer

download-5

Rating:3.5/5

This was an LGBT retelling of the Hades and Persephone legend, with a female Hades. It was a rather traditional retelling, with most of the facts unchanged from the actual Greek myth, other than the characters’ genders and sexualities. Oh, also unlike most retellings, Zeus was shown to be a total douche, and Hades was shown to be a good person.Review

 

4. Paper Princess by Erin Watts.

download-13

Rating:4/5

This is the story of Ella, a seventeen year old orphan girl forced to strip for a living until she was taken in by the ultra rich Callum Royal. There she meets Callum’s five sons, each of them stunningly attractive and as friendly as a bag of nails. Especially Reed, to whom Ella is inexplicably drawn. Tbh, I do not usually read books like this, however I really liked this one, it was great fun to read, and I finished it in a day. Review

 

5. Hate list by Jennifer Brown

download-22

Rating: 4.5/5

This is the story of Valerie, a high school student whose boyfriend Nick had opened fire in the school, killing several students before committing suicide. This book is about how she deals with life after the incident, her guilt and the accusations at her, and her leftover feelings for Nick.Review

 

6. Coraline by Neil Gaiman

download-16

Rating: 3.5/5

I really wanted to like this book more than I did. I guess bit was because it is a children’s book, but I wasn’t creeped out bu it the way everyone claimed they were. However, I really want to try out some of Neil Gaiman’s adult novels as I’ve heard a lot of great things about the author in general.

 

So, these were the books I read in the month of October. It was overall a good reading month. I also almost got through the audiobook version of Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, but unfortunately I had to stop listening to it because I lost my earphones, and later on, when I bought a new pair, I was really not in the mood to go back to it. I hope I’d finish it in November, for I really liked the book and I want to know how it ends.

2 thoughts on “October Wrap Up/

Leave a Reply

