Top Ten Tuesday :Books to Read if Your Book Club Likes Retellings.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, and today’s topic is top ten books to read if your book club likes …… I am going to go with retellings, as I love them.

  1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

images (6).jpg

These books have put a Sci-Fi twist onto traditional fairy tales like Cinderella, Red Riding Hood and Rapunzel. I’ve read only the first two books, and I loved them.

2. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahideh

download-18

The Wrath and the Dawn is a retelling of the story behind the Arabian Nights. It is the story of Shahrzad, a young girl who lives in a kingdom where the prince, Khalid marries a new girl daily and executes her every dawn. In a bid to avenge her friend, she marries Khalid, and this book follows the stuff that happens after it. It was a beautiful book and I loved it. I’m yet to read it’s sequel, The Rose and the Dagger, but I do hope to pick that one up soon.

 

3.Percy Jackson and the Greek gods by Rick Riordan

In this book, Greek myths and legends are retold by Percy Jackson! It is a really humorous, fun read.

download-26

4. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman.

This trilogy is actually a retelling of Paradise Lost by John Milton. It follows a young girl Lyra, in a multiverse setting with witches, armoured bears, devices that tell the the truth, daemons, and a mysterious substance called dust. It is technically an inversion of Paradise lost with the Original Sin of the Bible portrayed as a good thing. In the universe of the book, God and the church is portrayed rather negatively, so if that’s something likely to offend you, I’d suggest you give this one a miss, but otherwise I’d defnitely recommend it as it is really a brilliant piece of writing.

images (4)

5. The huntress of Thornbeck forest by Melanie Dickerson.

This is a retelling of Swan Lake. The protagonist, Odette is a young woman who illegally hunts during the night in order to feed poor orphaned children. She meets Jorgen-the young forester and much to her shock, she finds herself falling for him, the man who would put her behind bars if she is caught. This was a rather simple, straightforward read that I found to be enjoyable.

download (7)

 

6. The Dark Wife by Sarah Diemer

This is a lesbian retelling of the Hades-Persephone legend. It’s a rather traditional retelling except for the gender aspect, and it was pleasantly different as it portrayed Zeus as the bad guy and Hades as a really good person.

download-5

 

7. The Immortals of Meluha by Amish

This trilogy is based on Indian mythology, and is a retelling of the story of the Hindu god Shiva. I really liked the first book, but I wasn’t a big fan of the next two books, to be honest.

download (59)

 

8. A Court of Thorns and Roses

I’ve heard that it is a loose retelling of the Beauty and the Beast. I am yet to read this book, though.

download (12)v

9. Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

This is another book I’ve not yet read, but I’ve heard a lot about it on Booktube.

download (27).jpg

 

10. The Palace of illusions by Chitra Banarjee Divakaruni

This is another Indian mythology retelling. It tells the story of the princess Draupadi, who enters into a polyandrous marriage with the five Pandava brothers, who are the heroes of the epic Mahabharata. To be honest, I’m not really that interested in Indian mythology retellings, as it is something I get to see a lot here, in India. However I’ve heard  a lot of great things about this one, so it made way to my TBR.

download (28).jpg

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday :Books to Read if Your Book Club Likes Retellings.

  1. Some great books on this list! I have yet to read a court of thorns and roses, but I have heard a lot about it myself. The lunar chronicles and Percy Jackson series are awesome. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

