November Wrap up

November was a decent reading month, though not the best. I read six books, and one novella. I hardly read anything in the first half of the month, and I marathoned a bunch of books in the second half.

  1. Vinegar hill by A Manette Ansay. This book was very different from the ones I usually read. This was a slow moving book revolving around the life of Ellen, a middle aged woman facing trouble with her family life. It was a moving and interesting read, which I rated 4.5/5.
  2. Gone girl by Gillian Flynn. I had picked this book up several times in the past, and I ended up dnf’ing it each time. I somehow could not get into it. However I decided to give it another chance, and ot blew my mind. Amy Dunne is one of the craziest negative characters I’ve read about and I fucking hate her. The book itself was so full of twists and turns….it was amazing. I give it a rating of 4.5/5. After reading this book, I was on the mood for some more Flynn, so I read the Grownup, a novella by her, and I loved it.
  3. Carrie by Stephen King. King’s books had been on my TBR for a long time, however I had never gotten along to reading them till now. I really enjoyed it. I was not to creeped out by the book, but then, I don’t usually get creeped out by books.Rating:4.5/5
  4. And there were none by Agatha Christie. This was the first Agatha Christie book I had read, and I frickin loved it. However, when I reached the ending, I was rather disappointed as it seed to be sort of unresolved. However, when I looked up the book, I realised that the copy I had borrowed from the library probably had a few pages missing.(The post script, which presented a resolution was missing). Rating:4.5/5
  5. I am Malala by Malala Yousefzai and Christina Lamb. I have not read much nonfiction, but this had been on my TBR for a long time. I think this is a really important book. It is the memoir of Malala Yousefzai, a Pakistani teenager who got shot by the Taliban for campaigning for girls’ education. I had always admired her, and I have felt a connection with her, because I’m of the same age as she is, though we’ve led very different lives. I had always taken education for granted and it is sad that people have to fight for this basic tight. She struck me as an incredibly brave young woman and I really liked reading this book. Tbh, I did skim through a lot of this book, which dealt with politics , which is not really something I enjoy reading about. However, I otherwise I really liked reading it.

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. This was a really fun, fluffy, cute read, which I enjoyed . I gave it 3.5/5 stars.

 

So, that’s it. If you’ve read any of these books, do let me know in the comments.

 

 

2 thoughts on “November Wrap up

Leave a Reply

