Catalyst: A red dog thriller

Author: Blou Bryant

Genre: Sci-Fi, thriller

Series: The Altered(#1)

Rating: 2.5/5

The headlines blared ‘DNA Breakthrough! Humanity controls own evolution.”

In the not-too-distant future, society is even more divided than it is now and the ‘new economy’ has left most of us behind. The world has been changed and people look to change themselves. Tattoos and piercings are visible examples while the use of drugs, DNA therapy and surgery to alter ourselves becomes common.Nineteen-year old athlete Wyatt Millar doesn’t notice any of it. He’s a track star, math nerd and OCD loner. His therapist thinks he needs to be fixed with drugs and therapy. He disagrees. His obsessive counting and solitary ways don’t bother him much.

His boringly average and normal life is shattered when his own genetic makeup puts a target on his back for an unhinged hacker, a shoe-obsessed psychopath, a bike gang, and corporate cops. He’s on the run, kidnapped and held hostage, and every time he thinks he’s figured a way out, he’s left with even more puzzles.Catalyst is a suspenseful yet often humorous cliffhanger with a memorable ending and an eminently despicable villain. This is not your average thriller.

Note – Catalyst has some foul language and scenes of violence and is best enjoyed by adults or mature teens

I acquired this book from the publisher via Netgalley. All opinions here are my own.

This is the first book I acquired from Netgalley! Yay!

I am a bit confused, though. I thought Netgalley was for ARCs. I thought this was an ARC when I requested this title, and I was quite surprised when I noticed it had been published back in April 2016.

I found the premise of the book quite interesting. However, unfortunately, I wasn’t a big fan of the plot. The writing was so confusing, I couldn’t really discern what was happening half the time.

The characters were confusing as well. I liked Wyatt, however, his character seemed to be so much more interesting in the blurb than in the actual book.

Overall, it was an intriguing concept, and there were parts of the book I really enjoyed, but for the most part, it did not really work for me.

Leave a Reply

