Dumbledore’s Army Readathon TBR.

I’m super excited because this is the first time I would be taking part in a readathon. This one looks so exciting! This is hosted by Aentee from Read at Midnight.

dareadathon-badge.png

Dumbledore’s Army once strived to keep Hogwarts a safe space for all students, despite the odds which were stacked against them. For the upcoming new year, I wanted to take a leaf from their book, and to remember to keep fighting -especially to keep the voices of everyone visible in my reading experience. Come join me and declare your allegiance for Dumbledore’s Army, we’ll take it one page at a time.

dareadathon-information

What: #DAReadAThon is a Harry Potter themed readathon, focusing on diverse (especially #ownvoices) books.

When: The readathon will begin Sunday 1st January and conclude Sunday 15th January, midnight to midnight – wherever in the world you’re based.

Who: Anyone can join, although it would be easier for you to write up your reviews and sign up posts if you had a platform such as a blog or a booktube. If you have a twitter or instagram account, please join in on the #DAReadAThon hashtag! You don’t have to be familiar with Harry Potter to join, but the prompts will make more sense to you.

How: You can sign up in this post right here, and start planning your TBR from today. Sign up will remain open for the duration of December.

The prompts of #DAReadAThon are inspired by the spells Harry and co. practised and used during their meetings in the Room of Requirements. We’ll be doing magic of our own by reading and promoting diverse titles using the incantations below. There are seven prompts, since we all know that’s the magic number.

dareadathon-expecto-patronum

download (17).jpg

I’ve always been an extreme introvert and a wallflower, and I sometimes have a tough time navigating life because of that. I think I’d be able to relate to this book well.

 

da-readathon-expelliarmus

download-18

I had recently found this on Netgalley, and it is a memoir of a transgender man who also has cerebral palsy. So, this book fits the prompt on two counts, since I’ve not read many books with transgender protagonists OR disabled protagonists.

da-readathon-protego

download (19).jpg

This is another memoir written by an LGBT+ author. This features some rather dark topics, and I’m really looking forward to getting to this.

da-readathon-reducto

download (20).jpg

This was the first book that came to my mind when I read this prompt. I’ve watched Adichie’s Ted Talks and I loved them,

dareadathon-impedimenta

download-21

I’ve loved all of Rainbow Rowell’s books, and this book had been languishing in my TBR for WAY too long.

dareadathon-stupefy

61qsryof0-l

This is definitely a hyped up series, and I’ve heard it has quite diverse characters. I’ve owned this book for quite some time.

dareadthon-lumos

I haven’t found one for this yet, so I’d leave it to you guys, if you have a book to recommend, please do so in the comments.

4 thoughts on “Dumbledore’s Army Readathon TBR.

  1. I have some recommendations for you for that last prompt… Little Peach by Peggy Kern, Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (although you’ve probably already read that one), Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe… and ones I haven’t read yet but really want to: As I Descended, Labyrinth Lost, A Darkly Beating Heart, When the Moon Was Ours, Last Seen Leaving… my list could go on forever so I’ll just stop there. Lol. Good luck with the Readathon! I still may join… I haven’t decided yet. How can I figure out my patronus?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

