The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag 2.0

Some time back, I had done an Unpopular opinions book tag. You can look it up here.

I was new to the book community when I did the tag, and I’ve read a lot more since then. I cringe while reading some of the answers I had given, the one where I said I disliked Gillian Flynn, for instance. I absolutely love her books now, but I didn’t earlier. People change. So, I decided to redo this tag.

This tag was created by the amazing Book Archer on Booktube. I assume it is understood that all of these are my opinions, and I do not intend to offend anyone.

 

A a popular book you didn’t like

download (22).jpg

Okay, it’s not like I absolutely hated this book or anything, but I wasn’t a big fan of Coraline by Neil Gaiman. Everyone said this book was creepy, but it did not creep me out at all.

 

A book series that everyone hates but you love

download-11

A lot of people on Goodreads seem to hate this book. They claim that it is famous only because it was written by a famous youtuber which may be partly true, but I still really liked it. I found the MC really relatable, and though the romance was a bit cheesy, it was an enjoyable read.

 

A love triangle where the MC ends up with the person you didn’t want them to end up with, or an OTP you don’t ship

download-13

I am not a big fan of Reed and Ella together. I didn’t really like Reed, I couldn’t get over how mean he was to Ella in the beginning of the book. Sure, he may have a  tragic backstory of some sort, but it doesn’t take away the fact he was born with a silver spoon with his mouth while Ella lived her whole life struggling, and yet he thought it was okay to make things so difficult for her without knowing anything about her. But everyone seem to excuse that because he’s hot. I haven’t read the second book, there’s a chance I might change my mind if I read it, but right now that doesn’t seem likely. I’d rather ship Ella with Easton.

 

A popular book genre you rarely reach for

I don’t reach out for historical fiction very often. It is not that I dislike it, in fact I did end up liking the ones I’ve read, but somehow I don’t pick them up a lot.

 

A popular beloved character you didn’t like

download (23).jpg

I wanted to say Reed Royal again, but I’m trying not to repeat series, so I’d go with Noah Shaw from the Mara Dyer trilogy. Somehow, he struck me as a rather artificial character created for fangirls to swoon over.

 

A popular author you can’t seem to get into

Stephanie Perkins. I read Anna and the French kiss and *gasp* I wasn’t a big fan. I tried reading Lola, but at some point, I felt like there was nothing for me in that book. I am not particularly interested in Summer Days and Summer nights either.

 

A popular trope you’re tired of seeing

The YA protagonist finding the one true love of their life while in their teens, and ending up married and everything. I mean, yeah, lots of people end up marrying their high school sweethearts, but many do not. I’m nineteen, and I have absolutely no idea whom I’d end up with if I get married at all.

 

Popular series you have no interest in reading

download

I have absolutely no interest in reading the After series by Anna Todd. The storyline does absolutely nothing to me, and while I love the idea of fanfiction authors becoming actual authors, I’m not big on fanfiction about real people. I might have been more interested in it if I had known about it some time ago, back when I was in my directioner phase, but now I am really not into it.

 

The saying goes, “The book is always better than the movie,” but what movie or TV show do you prefer more than the book?

download (24).jpg

The movie Bridge to Terabithia was really magical and also sad. I liked the book, but I much prefer the movie.

So, that’s it. Please don’t hate me for this.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag 2.0

  1. I completely agree with the “teen meets soulmate” trope! It makes sense in some books but it’s not at all realistic. I also agree on the After series, I will never pick it up. I honestly do not understand how people read and write fanfiction about people, it’s such a strange concept to me. “Bridge to Terabithia” is a precious movie I will love forever! (confession time: I haven’t read the book). I loved your post!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

