December Wrap Up

Happy New Year, everyone! While 2016 had been a great reading year, it kind of sucked in other ways, and so I was not too teary eyed when I bade it adieu. December was an awesome reading year for me. I ended up reading ten books

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton.

download-29

Rating:5/5.

I absolutely loved this book. It was the story of a young girl born with wings, and I thought it was fabulous. It had a really magical feel to it, though it also had some really dark stuff in it. Review.

 

Holding up the universe by Jennifer Niven

download-32

Rating: 4/5

This was another great read. It was a contemporary revolvng around Libby, once dubbed America’s fattest teen, and Jack, a boy with a rare condition that prevented him from recognizing faces. It kind of reminded me of the Fault in Our Strs, which was one of my favorite YA contemporaries. Review

 

A perfect Manhattan Murder by Tracy Kiely

32884258

Rating:3.5/5

This was my first ever ARC, and I found it an enjoyable read.review.

 

The girl with the dragon tattoo by Stieg Larsson.

download

Rating: 4/5

This was a really fast-paced intriguing read, and I’m really glad I picked it up.

 

A man called Ove by Fredrik Backman

download-1

Rating: 4/5

This was a really sweet, heartwarming read. It revolved around the life of a rather grumpy old man, and had a really warm story, though it did have some really dark, sad moments.

 

Catalyst by Blou Bryant

29980307

Rating:2.5/5

I found this on Netgalley, and I thought it had an incredible premise. Unfortunately, I was not a huge fan.review

 

How to be Happy by David Burton

cover102143-mini

Rating: 3.5/5

This was a memoir which talked about teen relationships, friendships, and especially sexual confusion and sexuality. This was an honest, engaging read, and I liked it for the most part.review

 

Gently falls the bakula by Sudha Murthy

4525896

Rating:2.5/5

Sudha Murthy is a well known author here, in India. This book revolves around the lives of Shrikant and Shrimati, who grow up together, fall in love, and get married. They then face struggles in their marriage. While I thought this book to be well-intended, I wasn’t a huge fan of the writing.

 

Manga Classics- Great Expectations.

download-2

Rating: 5/5

I’m so glad I found this on Netgalley. I seldom have the patients to read classics, but I loved this so much, and I also really liked the story, so I’m thinking of picking up the original. I’ve never read actual manga, but I did really enjoy reading this, and the art was incredible.

 

Manga Classics-Jane Eyre

download-3

Rating:4.5/5

This was another incredible manga classic. The only reason I gave it a lesser rating than Great Expectations was that I preferred the art of that book.

 

What I watched

I don’t usually talk about what I watch, in my wrap ups. However, since I’m having my holidays I didn’t have much else to do, so I did watch a bunch of stuff, which I’d like to talk about.

download-3

I am currently on season five of FRIENDS, and I’m really enjoying it. I feel a bit weird at times, fangirling over a show from a decade ago, but it’s such a fun show!

download-4

This is kind of an anthology of Sci-Fi satirical stories, and I got into it after a friend recommended it. I’ve watched the first two seasons(each season has three episodes). It is really crazy and bound to fuck with your mind.

download (5).jpg

I adored this anime so much!!! It was really sweet and fun and emotional……

download (6).jpg

I’m pretty new to anime, and I’m trying to catch up with the popular ones which everyone seems to have seen. i watched the first season of it, and I have rather mixed feelings about it. I liked it, but I wasn’t super-crazy about it, and that seldom happens, so I’m confused.

images.jpg

I know I shouldn’t see the movie before reading the book. But I did :(. I really loved the movie, and I love Mark Watney’s character, I just hope i wouldn’t enjoy the book any less because of that.

download (7).jpg

Parched was a Hindi movie that revolved around the lives of women in rural Rajasthan. I absolutely loved it, it was really beautiful, and empowering.

 

So, that’s it. December had been a great month for me. I hope 2017 would be awesome!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

