Mini reviews: The Whizbang machine + Deathknight

Disclaimer: I got a free copy of both these books from Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

download-13

This was a really fun read. It followed a fifteen year old girl Elizabeth and her grandfather Jack as they unraveled an old family secret which they learned about through the vintage typewriter Jack had gifted Elizabeth. It was really enjoyable, and I very much liked the characters. The relationship between the two characters was really fun to read about, and the fact that they were a grandfather and a granddaughter was really refreshing. The plot was fun to read about and can be enjoyed by people of all ages. The ending really shook me-It ends on a cliffhanger, and I can’t wait for he second book to come out.  Rating: 4/5

index.jpg

I hadn’t read high fantasy for quite some time, so I was very excited to get to this book. This follows Falc, a man sworn into an order known as The Sons of Asah, and it proved to be an engaging read. The plot was rather confusing, and while the world-building was good, it could have been done better, In fact, it kind of struck me as what would have become if a single character’s perspective from Game of Thrones was made into a book (Which isn’t saying much, as the array of characters are one of GoT’s biggest plus points). I felt Falc was a well-done not so likable character. I also really liked the character Jinnery. However, I wasn’t a fan of how the book treated women. The only women besides Jinnery to be mentioned were slaves, and while I do get that the book was set in a medieval-ish world, which was cruel to women, I did feel it could have done better. Though Jinnery was shown to be a strong character, I felt even with her, there was too much focus on her sexuality, in spite of the fact that there wasn’t any romance in the book (Which I actually found refreshing.) Rating: 3.5/5.

Leave a Reply

