ARC Review: Resistance (#Divided elements 1)

In a future post-apocalyptic Paris, a rebellion threatens to upset the city’s perfectly-structured balance and plunge its citizens into anarchy.
Two generations after the Execution of Kane 148 and Otpor’s return to Orthodoxy, forbidden murals are appearing on crumbling concrete walls – calling citizens to action. Calling for Resistance.

The murals will change the utopian lives of all citizens. But, for Anaiya 234, they will change who she is.

A Peacekeeper of the uncompromising Fire Element, Anaiya free-runs through city’s precincts to enforce the Orthodoxy without hesitation or mercy. Her selection for a high-risk mission gives Otpor the chance it needs to bring down the Resistance and Anaiya the opportunity she craves to erase a shameful legacy.
But the mission demands an impossible sacrifice – her identity.

Series: Undivided elements

Author: Mikhaeyla Kopievsky

Publisher: KYRIJA

Genre: Dystopian. Post-apocalyptic

Rating: 5/5

Disclaimer: I obtained a free ARC of this book via Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

My Thoughts

I freakin loved this book! It follows Anaiya, a peacekeeper and a fire elemental in a world where everyone’s identity is tied to an element, and each element has certain attributes that affect the nature of a person. Fire elementals are the figures of authority , they are always supposed to be rigid, logical  and unyielding. When forbidden murals, calling for resistance are found, Anaiya is chosen to undergo a realignment procedure that would let her blend in with the Air elementals, so that she could find out what is going on.

I loved the way the story developed. It followed a plot that could have been really difficult to get into if it wasn’t so well done. I really  liked how Anaiya’s character developed, her transition to an air elemental was done really well. I loved the characters, Anaiya was a really flawed character and that made it really believable. The storyline kind of reminded me of Divergent, except this is a more adult version.

I felt that it did follow some common tropes at certain points, but it did not feel tropey to me at all, as it was so well done. There was also a sort of love triangle, which I normally really hate, but I really liked the way romance was done in this book. As a fire elemental, there was a guy Anaiya used to sleep with, but there wasn’t any emotional connection between them as fire elementals aren’t supposed to be emotional, but after her transition, she starts feeling emotionally attached to another character. That was one thing that really struck me about this book-There was a lot of change in Anaiya’s personality post transition, and by all rights it’s portrayal should have been a disaster, but it was not, it was done amazingly. The entire story was really fast paced, and kept me over the edge th entire time I read it.

I loved this as a first book in the series. I really hope that the rest of the series would be as amazing. I can’t wait for the next book to come out!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

