T5W:Favourite polarizing books

Top five Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Lainey @Ginger Reads Lainey and Sam@ Thoughts on Tomes. Today’s topic is favourite polarizing books. Here are my choices.

1. Fifty Shades trilogy by E.L James. I had really really hesitated to include this, as I was afraid of how everyone would react. Now, I’m not sure if I’ll like this trilogy if I read it now, as I was younger when I read it, and I was really not a critical reader at that time. Most of the bad writing everyone talks about just slipped past me then, and I wasn’t aware enough to recognise any problematic stuff. However, this will remain a guilty pleasure of mine as I got through the books really fast, and rather than the sex, it was Christian’s story I got really invested in. I wanted to know what it is that made him so twisted. And it was heartbreaking when I came to know.

2. Inferno by Dan Brown. Dan Brown’s books in general get a lot of criticism. I remember he used to be one of my favourite authors in high school, and I feel that it’s possible that I may not like his books so much if I reread them. However Inferno was one book I really enjoyed. I felt it presented an interesting dilemma and I really enjoyed the book.

3.Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I think the reason this book is so polarizing is that it has been compared to Gone Girl so many times. I honestly could not see the similarity other than the fact they both have ‘girl’ in the title. However, I really enjoyed Girl on the Train. I felt it was really interesting to read from the perspective of an alcoholic, and perhaps it is because I haven’t read a lot of mysteries, but I did not see the ending coming at all.

4.Allegiant by Veronica Roth. A lot of people really disliked the conclusion to the Divergent trilogy, but I personally really liked it. I felt really intrigued by the truth about the factions, and while I was shattered by the ending, I did think it was fitting.

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. Okay, I get why a lot of people dislike this. But I personally really enjoyed it. The stalkery aside, Lincoln sounded like a really fun character. I thought he was relatable, and little things like the fact he preferred to stay home and play Dungeons and dragons made him really likeable to me. I really disliked the ending, though.

Leave a Reply

