Top ten Tuesday: Characters I was the most fascinated by:

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and today’s topic is a freebie, so I thought I’d talk about the book characters that fascinated me the most. They may not necessarily be morally the best kind of people, but they are the characters that really captivated me for some reason or the other. So, let’s get started.

1. Lord Asriel from His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman. This a series I had read a long time ago, and I remember how captivated I was by Lord Asriel. He was very much a morally grey character, and I thought his character was extremely well written.

2. Lisbeth Salandar from The girl with the dragon tattoo by Steig Larsson. A badass hacker with an unconventional lifestyle . Need I say anything more?

3. Ove from A Man called Ove by Fredrick Backman. The thing is, I would have really disliked Ove if I met him in real life. But the way the writer wrote about him, you just can’t help liking him.

4. Daenerys Targaryen from A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R Martin. I’m talking about the book, not the show. Especially the first book. I loved the character development shown, where she grew from being Viserys’s rather weak and scared sister to the proud mother of dragons we know her to be.

5. Hermione from Harry Potter by J.K Rowling.

I did not really realise how awesome she was for years. It was only much later I started appreciating what she represented, someone who valued knowledge, someone who was not afraid to fight for rights and someone who believed in following rules unless it is to fight injustice.

6. Luke Castellan from Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.

I suspect I may not like him as much as I did, if I reread the books, but Luke was one of my first ever book crushes. I do feel he acted like a jerk at times, but I just couldn’t help feeling the way I did at that time.

7. Cath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. 

She was the most relatable character ever.

8. Murtagh from the Inheritance series by Christopher Paolini. 

Ah, another morally grey character! I couldn’t help feeling terribly sorry for him throughout the series, as the worst things seemed to happen to him. He was a really complex character, and I loved reading about him.

9. Light Yagami from Death Note. I am not sure this counts, as I have not finished reading the manga, I’ve only watched the anime. However, I can’t leave him out. Most people seem to be L fans, and I do like L ,but I thought Light was a more interesting, complex character. There were times I absolutely detested him, but there were times I did feel that he had a point if that makes sense. Don’t freak out, I’m not a killer myself.😂.

So that’s it. Today’s top ten was a top nine. Do tell me about your favourite characters.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top ten Tuesday: Characters I was the most fascinated by:

Leave a Reply

