Review: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Ender’s Game follows a young boy Ender, who is born a Third, i.e a third child in a futuristic society which follows a two-child policy. He is chosen to attend Battle School, where he’d be trained to fight the buggers, who are a mysterious alien race. It also follows his siblings Peter and Valentine who have their own plans to take over the world. I’m sorry if that’s a terrible description but I don’t like the goodreads blurb as I feel it reveals way too much. In fact, if you are planning to read this book, I’d suggest you go into it without reading the blurb.

I really enjoyed the book. I really liked Ender, he was a cinnamon role who had been through a lot at an age too young. I feel that the writer did a good job portraying his character development, and I couldn’t help feeling for him throughout the book. The plot was quite interesting, but I was more interested in the characters and everything Ender went through. The story was really compelling and kept me turning the pages.

About the stuff I didn’t like, I felt that the whole ‘kids saving the world’ thing was quite overdone. It was really unrealistic, and while I usually don’t have a problem with the trope, it appeared a bit too much in this book. Also, I felt the ending was not done too well. It lacked a proper explanation. However, it IS the first book in a series, so it’s possible it would get resolved in the sequel.

Lastly, I’d like to say that I’m aware of the problematic things Orson Scott Card has said and done.Personally,I tend to separate the author from the work, but I’m also aware that not everyone feels comfortable doing that. I got this book from the library, so I’m not directly funding him, and I strongly oppose his views on certain issues (which are not by an means reflected in this book). I am really glad that I got into this book knowing about it, as I usually tend to get defensive about authors whose books i liked when I learn that their problematic AFTER reading the book (something I need to work on. ).

download (21).jpg

 

Leave a Reply

