Top Ten Tuesday books I liked more/less than I thought I would.

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuessay. This week’s topic is top ten books you liked more/less than you thought you would, so without further ado, let’s get started.

Top Ten Tuesday is is an original feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Books I liked less than I thought I would (Don’t hate me for this)

 

  1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: Okay, I liked this book. However it had been so hyped up, people were talking about how it was the best book ever, and honestly? I thought it was a let down. I admit, I might have enjoyed it more if I did not have such high expectations.
  2. Coraline by Neil Gaiman: I had heard a lot about how spooky and creepy this book was , but I honestly did not find it scary at all. I think maybe it was because it’s a middle grade book, and I definitely want to check out more of Neil Gaiman’s work. However, this one just did not do it for me.
  3. Anna and the French kiss by Stephanie Perkins: This book was quite hyped up in the book community, and I thought I’d like it. However, I found out I could not connect to the characters at all.
  4. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn: This is another book I LIKED.Just not as much as I expected to. Everyone talks about how Amy Dunne is the epitome of an evil, twisted character you can’t help rooting for, but personally I couldn’t find anything likable about her at all.
  5. Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli: I guess fluffy contemporaries are just not for me. I liked this book, but it was by no means a favorite. I thought the romance was really cheesy.

 

            Books I liked more than I thought I would

  1. Paper Princess by Erin Watt: Looking back, I have quite a few issues with this book. but I had absolutely enjoyed reading it.I read it in one sitting!
  2. Cress by Marissa Meyer: I really enjoyed Cinder, first book in the Lunar Chronicles, but I wasn’t a huge fan of it’s sequel, Scarlet. So, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed Cress.
  3. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton: I think this is a rather underrated book. I did not have overly high expectations while getting into it, but I ended up blown away by it.
  4. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell: I wasn’t a fan of how this book ended , but I thought it was a really cute, fun read. I had heard so many mixed things about it, so I did not go into it with high expectations.
  5. Holding up the Universe by Jennifer Niven: I thought it would be another cliched contemporary, but I ended up loving it. It was a really sweet, meaningful read.

 

Leave a Reply

