Goodreads Monday: The Magicians.

Goodreads Monday is a weekly feature hosted at Lauren’s page turners. The aim of Goodreads Monday is to show off a book on your TBR every week, and my pick for today is Magicians by Lev Grossman.

 

Like everyone else, precocious high school senior Quentin Coldwater assumes that magic isn’t real, until he finds himself admitted to a very secretive and exclusive college of magic in upstate New York. There he indulges in joys of college-friendship, love, sex, and booze- and receives a rigorous education in modern sorcery. But magic doesn’t bring the happiness and adventure Quentin thought it would. After graduation, he and his friends stumble upon a secret that sets them on a remarkable journey that may just fulfill Quentin’s yearning. But their journey turns out to be darker and more dangerous than they’d imagined.

 

So, have you read this book? What do you think of it?

3 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday: The Magicians.

  1. I didn’t like it. For me, it was boring, nothing (much) happened, I couldn’t connect with characters, … I expected more. I think I gave it 2 stars but I doubt I’ll ever read a sequel.

    Like

  2. I didn’t like it either. I wanted to badly to love this book, but in the end I gave up on it. I hate DNFs but it wasn’t worth spending my entire half term break trying to plow through this when I had other things I wanted to read. That’s not to say you won’t like it though, Goodreads is full of rave reviews (which is why I read it in the first place). It’s a marmite book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

