Booktubers writing books?

I recently acquired a copy of Because You Love To Hate Me, an anthology of short stories which are a combined effort of some booktubers and some YA authors. It sounded like a great idea to me. I’m yet to read it and judge whether it’s good or not, but while going through its goodreads page, I found a lot of people complaining about the booktubers being involved in it.

In fact, I keep seeing a lot of disdain towards the idea of booktubers writing books.So, I decided I’d talk about my opinion on it.

Here’s the thing. Booktubers are almost always people passionate about books.And if you passionate about books, there’s a good chance you’d want to try your hand in writing a book. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that just because you happen to be a booktuber. Having a Youtube channel doesn’t mean you cannot try your hand in other things.

A lot of people complain about how booktuber books are more likely to be successful than books by author authors because of their following. While that’s probably true, I’d like to point out that that is true for all public personalities. It’s not like they go around telling people to read their book just because they happen to be booktubers. People CHOOSE to read their books because they are excited for them.

I don’t believe that booktuber books should be judged any differently from books by any other author. However, if a booktuber I like comes out with a book, and if it looks interesting, I’d definitely read it.

Leave a Reply

