Book Recommendations: If you liked …..you might also like….

So, I thought I’d do this entirely original type of book recommendations (sarcasm intensifies). Here are some popular books, and books with similar concepts, themes etc.

  1. If you liked ALIAS GRACE by Margaret Atwood, you might also like BURIAL RITES by Hannah Kent

Buy Alias Grace Book Online at Low Prices in India | Alias Grace ...   Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Both these books are set in the 19th century and are about working class women accused of murdering their employers.  They are also loosely based on true stories.

2. If you liked CIRCE by Madeleine Miller, you might also like THE PENELOPIAD by Margaret Atwood

Circe: The International No. 1 Bestseller - Shortlisted for the ...  The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood

Both these books are Greek myth retellings from the point of view of female characters, and touch on many of the same themes.

3. If you liked THE KITE RUNNER by Khaled Hosseini, you might like UNDER THE UDALA TREES by Chinelo Okrapanta

The Kite Runner eBook: Hosseini, Khaled: Amazon.in: Kindle Store Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta

Both these books follow a coming-of-age narrative in a conflict ridden time and place, and are raw and heartbreaking. Under the Udala Trees also deals with the subject of being LGBTQ in a society where it has little to no social acceptance, so it is definitely not an easy read.

4. If you liked A MAN CALLED OVE by Fredrik Backman, you might like THE HOUSEKEEPER AND THE PROFESSOR by Yoko Ogawa

Buy A Man Called Ove: The life-affirming bestseller that will ... Buy The Housekeeper and the Professor Book Online at Low Prices in ...

This might be a bit of a stretch, but both these books are warm, emotional books with older men as protagonists, and feature intergenerational friendships.

5. If you liked CONVENIENCE STORE WOMAN by Sayaka Murata, you might like MY YEAR OF REST AND RELAXATION by Ottessa Moshfegh.

Amazon.com: Convenience Store Woman: A Novel (9780802128256 ...  My Year of Rest and Relaxation - Wikipedia

These books are actually vastly different in their writing styles. However, both of them are about young women, and deal poignantly with the subject of social alienation.


4 thoughts on “Book Recommendations: If you liked …..you might also like….

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s